Finding the right tunes
AB Inbev X-KTV

The leading multinational beverage and brewing manufacturer, AB InBev, has reached out to mediaman for a reformulation of its interactive KTV table. This request was prompted after unsatisfactory results from user response after the first generation product was launched.

Project Intro

Our long-term client AB Inbev, the largest brewery in the world, invited us to innovate the space that hosts one of the most popular Chinese entertainment activities: KTV (also called Karaoke).

The lounge experience should be enriched with a smart table. A prototype had already been launched earlier but received low acceptance from consumers.

As a consequence, AB Inbev was looking for a deeper assessment of the prototype and guidance for the next generation of KTV smart tables.

More importantly, every decision made in the design process of the next generation table would require rigorous testing and user acceptance, before getting launched.

One of our first steps was to conduct field research in 21 KTV entertainment centers located in Shanghai and Guangzhou, supplemented with separate one-on-one interviews. This would help us to understand the consumer perspective and finally create innovative concepts and a positioning for this product.

A point, drawing out a world

What role does this table really play?

Initially, we only knew of very few actual users’ needs in this area. Innovation for KTV lounges is still a blank sheet and has no market precedent. We had to create and validate on our own.

But while we went deeper into the world of KTV, we realized a number of stakeholders, all with different purpose and motivation.

At the core of the interaction, we have the consumers and the actual smart table. But the KTV experience itself, the developers and sales people were part of this ecosystem, too. Lastly, the context was widened one more step and included service personnel and processes as well as the management of such establishment.

Different perspectives define different needs

Each stakeholder group comes with their particular needs: While the management hopes to boost consumer spending, the actual visitors show interest, but do not engage deeper with the smart table. Service personnel is usually not skilled enough to instruct users on how to interact with the table, leading to further frustration. Lastly, AB Inbev interest is to sell more beverages through such technology. Each stakeholders interest are closely linked to each other, but the key of all is to get users to actually use the table.

From product strategy to redesigning the interactive features – together this showcases an all-new initiatives that highlight AB InBev’s unique brand experience.

Data does not always tell the truth

Looking for the core breakthrough points of our table, we had to dig deep into our user’s needs. Our data research unveiled quite a few interesting phenomena.

When interviewed outside of KTV rooms, only 50-60% of the interviewed persons claimed song and meal ordering to be important features, while 70-80% expressed interested in gaming activities.

However, when observing the users in KTV lounges, games were not popular at all, while the demand for song and meal ordering was high at 90%.

Why the contrast? People express their opinions bluntly, but they are also vulnerable to the impact of the environment and make different decisions.

In fact, their real demand is not "ordering a meal", but rather to "complete the meal ordering process more quickly", focusing on whether a system can improve the efficiency of meal ordering.

The game is the opposite, most users would be interested to play video games in a KTV lounge; however, the built-in games usually cannot meet most of the user’s expectations so their interest vanishes quickly.

As a result, we can only interpret the date in combination with the actual scenario. After our first research phase, we created a basic preview based on our results. We created questionnaires and two demo models for the second research phase, and finally completed the refining and cleaning of data.

Segmentation of user roles and their requirements

Our data results showed that a typical group visiting a KTV lounge included 20% Karaoke masters, 60% engaged members and 20% of silent spectators. Different roles determined a lot of differences between their needs, and we listed all of them, their pain points, divided categories, evaluated priorities, and eventually organized the information into a list of requirements to expand the solution idea.

We mapped a simple typical journey, and found touch points that might appear throughout the process based on this journey and research findings; we also marked what affected the user experience, as well as did function definitions based on the key issues.

Find real value for products

This is an innovative product, should there be no boundary in the end?

We discussed the definition of the table over and over again, from a small goal to a large direction, from target users positioning to demands summary, and constantly in doubt to overturn the previous conclusion. In the end, it was agreed that the upgrading of the intelligent function of the table did not have a real "pain point" for KTV; in other words, a table which can order meals doesn’t have necessary value points.

So, what exactly are the key points that can help KTV improvement? They are the amount of songs, sound quality, and KTV room environment, which namely defines the singing experience. Originally, the first version of products was positioned to create a "new experience", but the experience was based only on a "functional experience" rather than on "singing experience." Just like the TV program "I'm a singer" without singers and songs, it will lower down the atmosphere of the whole show if there is no light and dance.

So, what exactly are the key points that can help KTV improvement? They are the amount of songs, sound quality, and KTV room environment, which namely defines the singing experience. Originally, the first version of products was positioned to create a "new experience", but the experience was based only on a "functional experience" rather than on "singing experience." Just like the TV program "I'm a singer" without singers and songs, it will lower down the atmosphere of the whole show if there is no light and dance.

Eventually we decided to redefine what "new experience" could be delivered by the table: not intelligence, but instead making it more fun to sing in the KTV.

Keep the way how people are used to sing in KTV, but make the environment, songs, singers and friends more interactive. Define the table as a control terminal, equipped with projectors, lights, and even more external equipment to form a strong environmental interaction, to create a stage atmosphere. Evolve the overall feeling from focusing on singing, and helping to sing into enjoying singing.

Transfer ideas into the MVP (Minimum Viable Product)

With this positioning, a definition was quickly found for the first MVP: small enough to maintain the speed of development and iteration, fitted with interesting conceptual design to enhance product charm, with user value, to build a complete experience.

In the end, we extracted 4 features from a wide array to focus on, putting the rest of our energy into hardware development and software improvements. We wanted to avoid dealing with the inherent problems, and rather develop a complete new plan.

This is a bold attempt, but the key to an innovative product is not in its function, but in the definition of its core concept. Overlooking the role of the product in the environment from a higher angle will help us to expand our thoughts.

Project Team
Product Director

Demi Gong

Senior Business Consultant

Jack Fu

Information Architect

Kelvin Zhou

重装革命!
AB InBev xKTV

百威英博,领先的跨国饮料和酿造制造商之一,邀请mediaman为其重新设计KTV互动桌。
此需求是在第一代产品推出后, 用户反响没有达到预期后提出的。

项目介绍

随着与百威英博在多个项目中的深入合作,我们接到一个创新型startup的项目邀请:打造一款放在KTV包厢中的智能桌子。经过几次碰面逐渐了解到,第一个版本几个月前已经上市,但是效果与预期相差甚远,也陷入了僵局无法找到突破口。

这次,百威希望我们可以对上一代产品进行全方位的调研总结,并且给出第二代产品规划。更为重要的是,二代桌子的设计中使用的每一个结论,都需要具备严谨的测试以及严格的推导过程。很快我们组织发放了调研问卷,在上海、广州两地的KTV进行21场调研以及单独的一对一访谈,最终提出了颠覆性的概念与全新产品定位。

一个点,牵出一个世界

这个桌子到底扮演了什么角色?

我们接到的有效需求很少,更多是疑问和迷茫。这是一个没有市场先例的创新模式,需要自行摸索和验证。几轮讨论结束后,大家一致认为可以将项目理解成一个小型生态。

核心参与者是消费者和桌子,但是围绕整个生态的还有KTV,开发人员,销售人员,他们也是桌子体验的重要组成部分。为了得到更全面的结论,调研范围被进一步扩大到包房整体环境,服务人员以及服务过程,KTV老板,以及系统与游戏开发者几种角色的介入。

角度不同,答案也不同

KTV老板关注桌子能给业绩带来多少提升;普通用户对于桌子表示出兴趣,却觉得与一般桌子并无差异;服务员的流动性大,新人对于桌子的不了解带来了更多的抵触情绪;开发者希望快速接入而不是重做;桌子的创造者百威自己也期待着桌子能够提升啤酒的销量。关联的利益链紧紧相扣,核心的一环则是用户对于桌子的态度,可用,好用,还是期待试用。

数据只能反映现象,并不会说出事实

想要找到桌子的核心突破点,就需要深入挖掘用户需求。经过调研,我们在数据中看到了很多奇怪的现象,比如:

问卷期间,只有50%-60%的用户觉得需要点歌和点餐功能,70%-80%的用户对于玩游戏很有兴趣。然而到了现场观察和调研,选择玩游戏的人却骤然下降,点歌点餐需求上升到90%。

为什么截然相反?用户只是直白的展示自己的反馈,但是也容易受环境的影响而做出不同的决定。其实,真实需求并不是”点餐“,而是可以”更快捷完成点餐流程“,重点在于这个系统是否能提升点餐效率。而游戏正好相反,大部分用户听到游戏都会觉得新鲜有趣,但是体验过内置游戏之后又无法满足大部分用户口味,那么这个需求的重点则在于游戏的设计是否符合当下场景。

所以,我们在数据分析的同时,需要带入情境才能看到数据背后的真相。一轮调研结束后,我们根据结果做出基本预判,在二轮调研中设置问卷和demo两种模式,对于预判进行双重验证,最终完成了对于数据的提炼和清洗工作。

从场景入手,细分用户角色与需求

数据结果展示,通常KTV唱歌的小团队包括20%麦霸,60%互动群众,20%小透明,以及一类特殊用户:自拍爱好者。不同的角色决定了他们之间的需求相差很多,我们列出所有需求,标记痛点,划分种类,评定优先级,最终整理成一张需求列表,拓展解决思路。

我们绘制了一个简单的typical journey,基于这个journey与调研结果寻找整个流程中可能出现的Touch point,标记最能影响用户体验的关键词,基于关键词进行功能定义和排序。

为产品寻找真正的价值

这是一个创新产品,到底应不应该有边界?

我们针对桌子的定义反复讨论,从小目标到大的方向,从人群定位到需求总结,不断在疑问中推翻前一次的定论。最终,大家一致认为桌子智能化功能的升级对于KTV来说并没有真正的“痛点”存在,换句话讲就是一个能点餐的桌子并没有必要的价值点。

那么,到底什么才是能够帮助KTV提升的关键点呢?是歌曲数量,音质,包房的环境,简单的说,就是唱歌的体验。原来第一版产品的定位是创造“新的体验”,但是这种体验仅仅是基于“功能的体验”,而不是基于“唱歌体验”。就像“我是歌手”中除了歌手和歌曲,如果没有灯光舞美,会拉低整个节目的气氛。

最终我们决定重新定义什么是桌子带来的“新体验”:不是智能,而是让唱K体验更有趣。

颠覆传统KTV一个人唱的形式,而是让环境、歌、歌手、朋友之间产生碰撞,将桌子作为一个控制终端,搭配投影仪、灯光、甚至更多外接设备形成很强的环境互动性,创造一个舞台式的气氛。从关注唱歌,帮助唱歌转变成享受唱歌的过程中的整体感受。

将理念转化为MVP(最小可行产品)

有了定位,作为第一个MVP很快就得到了定义:足够小以保持开发和迭代的速度,贴合有趣的概念设计提升产品魅力,有使用价值,保证完整的体验。

最终,我们从众多功能中筛选出4个功能进行着重打造和设计,将剩余的精力投入硬件研发和软件改进,避免卡顿带来的硬伤,并且制定了完整的Loop plan。

这是一次大胆的尝试与颠覆,创新产品的关键并不在功能,而是对于核心理念的定义,能够站在更高的角度俯瞰产品在环境中扮演的角色,会帮助我们更好的拓展思路,更全面的思考问题。

项目团队
产品总监

Demi Gong

高级商业顾问

Jack Fu

信息架构师

Kelvin Zhou